How much is my transport cost?

I wanted to know how much I had been spending on transport costs each month on average. The situation is that I do not commute to work anymore after retirement. But I still go to places using either public transport or driving my car. So I set out to track my spending on:

  1. Petrol cost
  2. Car park + ERP charges
  3. Taking public buses and MRT costs

How did I track?

For petrol and car park coupons, I use Esso Master Card to pay them. The credit card statement shows these charges.

I use NETs cash card to pay for automated car parks and ERP charges. The bank statement shows each top-up of NETS cash card.

I top-up EZLink card for use on public transport. I keep a record of date and the amount of cash to top-up the EZLink card.

I then work out the average of each cost on a per month basis. What do I get?

  1. Petrol + car park coupons = $90 per month
  2. Car park + ERP = $30
  3. Public transport = $30

Total costs = $150 per month

There you have it. I spent $150 per month on average on transport. Is this too much (bearing in mind that I do not commute to work anymore)? The use of car as a means of transport is a bit much in comparison to public transport. If I use public transport wholly, I can purchase the Adult Monthly Travel Pass at $120 for unlimited travel on bus and train rides. And if I am willing to travel during off-peak period, the Off-peak Monthly Travel Pass will cost me $80. (This is for a trial period from 5 July 2015 to 4 July 2017).

It may come a time when I have to give up driving a car (especially when I add up the other costs of owning and maintaining a car).

Copyright © 2015, limkimtong for Living Investment

The material presented is intended to be general and written in layman’s language as much as it is possible. The author shall not be liable for any direct or consequential loss arising from any use of material written. Please seek professional advice from your financial advisor or financial institutions on material written covering financial matters.

This entry was posted in Financial Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

