Does it really matter?

The recent five days of silent retreat (without access to news) gave me a new perspective to life. In the past, I was consumed with keeping up to date with news. I must have the Straits Times daily and need to catch up with past news while I was away. I need to know how the financial markets were doing. The ups and downs affected my sentiments. Is this really what I want, being affected by news?

Now, I choose to let matters be. So what if I miss some news of the past? I am not about to be ruled by events that are beyond my control. Does it really matter if stock Indices moved against my wish?

I was reminded during my recent trip to live in the present and not to dwell in the past or worry about the future.

I like the sayings by Dharma Drum Mountain that is most apt for me:
“Maturity cares not about the past; wisdom does not doubt the present; an open-mind does not worry about the future.”

This entry was posted in Life Journey, Living Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Does it really matter?

  1. When our survival is less dependent on the market condition; its volatility will become unimportant or critical and there goes with the latest news flow too. Life will go on!

Leave a Reply

