Looking back at 2015

2015 was significant for Singapore. Singapore celebrated fiftieth year of independence. It was also the year when Mr Lee Kuan Yew passed away. We had a worst case of haze caused by plantation and forest fires of Sumatra and Kalimantan. The El Nino made it bad.

2015 was the year when China economy faltered and oil prices plunged. The global economy (with the exception of the US) slowed. Those people who depended on income from investments (like me) had a harrowing experience throughout the year. It was a wild ride with fluctuating fortunes and it was difficult to be happy about.

Keeping sane

I left my job some three years back. I am now into my fourth year of early retirement. It had been good and I have adjusted to this kind of life.

I continue to read and write to occupy my time. I travelled a bit on short trips and volunteered at Bright Vision Hospital.

I read twenty-two (22) novels during the year at the rate of one book in 2.3 weeks and 112 pages in one week. Reading broadens my views and was always a joy. It helps in my writing of my blog posts in Living Investments. Living Investments had an average view of 179 per day. I wrote whenever I had the inspirations to share my stories and experiences.

This year my travel took me to Georgetown in Penang, Kyoto, Nara and Tokyo in Japan and Taiwan. These trips were memorable.

“Craft the City”, a project by POPIN

“Craft the City”, a POPIN’s community art project invited anyone to contribute to building a miniature cityscape. The elements in the cityscape could be inspired by real places in our surroundings or from memories. I contributed three pieces towards this project. The whole miniature city is now on display at Library@Orchard. It was so fun.

Reflections

I found 2015 passed by quickly. When you had fun and occupied meaningfully, time was not a problem. I set no goals to achieve something during the year. I just let things happened. Things work out fine if you do not set expectations. Be at peace with yourself and understand that things happen because of causes and conditions. Let unpleasant emotions go and live in the moment.

I wish all a Happy New Year. MaCraft the Cityy 2016 be even better than 2015!

This entry was posted in Life Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

