Singaporean Identity – My take on this subject matter

I am able to walk the streets without fear for my life. I get onto buses and MRT trains with people of different races and religious leanings and feel at ease. I can have a job that pays adequately for my living expenses and to raise a family.

Contrast this with the on-going civil war in Syria (now going into the fifth year of bloody conflict). You know how war disrupts people’s lives. Without doubt, I am thankful that I was born in Singapore.

Yes, we have unhappiness in many aspects of our lives. If I step back and look at the big picture, I am happy that I can live my life without fear (of being shortened).

As we move into the future, we cannot take this peace for granted. Living together harmoniously in a small country must be in our Singaporean DNAs. Virtues such as tolerance and non-hatred would see us through lives here. Polarisation and discrimination should not be given a chance to take roots in our society and this requires a whole-population approach to nation building.

This entry was posted in Life Journey, Social Issues. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

