Performance of equity portfolio against STI

I wonder how my Singapore equity portfolio performed against the Straits Times Index (STI)?

I did not replicate the stocks in the STI in my portfolio. I bought stocks selectively with some from the STI component stocks and some from mid-cap stocks. I still want to know how my stocks performed against the STI. The table is extracted showing percentage changes between two periods. The Results column shows whether my portfolio is better than the STI.

Date Portfolio Change (%) STI Change (%) Results
31 Aug 2015 -7.6% -8.8% better
30 Sep 2015 -2.8% -4.5% better
31 Oct 2015 4.6% 7.4% poorer
30 Nov 2015 -4.2% -4.7% better
31 Dec 2015 -0.9% 0.9% poorer
30 Jan 2016 -10.7% -8.8% poorer
29 Feb 2016 1.8% 1.4% better
4 Mar 2016 7.2% 6.4% better

In the month of January 2016, my portfolio declined 10.7% and the STI declined 8.8%. January was a terrible month for global equities.

The diagram below is the graphical representation of the table.

Portfolio versus STI

Portfolio versus STI

It shows that my portfolio was in lock-step with the STI. The variations were not significant.

 

As for last week, the STI improved by 6.4% (betw 29 Feb and 4 Mar). My portfolio was up 7.2% performing better than the STI. That is one consolation that what I have in my portfolio is ok.

 

Copyright © 2016, limkimtong for Living Investment

 

The material presented is intended to be general and written in layman’s language as much as it is possible. The author shall not be liable for any direct or consequential loss arising from any use of material written. Please seek professional advice from your financial advisor or financial institutions on material written covering financial matters.

 

 

This entry was posted in Financial Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

