“Cloud Atlas” by David Mitchell – A Book Review

Published in 2004
Number of pages: 529

You pay for one book and you get six stand-alone stories in different time period and different places.

  1. The Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing
  2. Letters from Zedelghem
  3. Half Lives – The First Luisa Rey Mystery
  4. The Ghastly Ordeal of Timothy Cavendish
  5. An Orison of Sonmi – 451
  6. Shoosha’s Crossin’ an’ Ev’rythin’ After

When I read the fiction sequentially from stories 1 to 5, each story is cut-off mid-way and I get to read the continuation of that story after story number 6. When I read the continuation of a story much later on, I had forgotten the characters and the plot! I would be better off flipping and jumping ahead to complete the story. But I did not do it as I was trying to see the links between each story.

I was transported from 19th Century’s “Pacific Journal of Adam Ewing” to the futuristic Sci-fi fiction of “An Orison of Sonmi – 451” I found thrills of the chase of investigative reporting by Luisa Rey against a  powerful conspiracy that was out to silence her.

I found “Shoosha’s Crossin’ an’ Ev’rythin’ After” hard to read especially when I was disturbed by the ungrammatical way the characters were speaking. Most time I was trying to make out what they were saying. That was tiring.File_000

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.