“The Valley of Fear” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – A Book Review

There are two parts to the novel by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The first part was twenty years after the second. In the first part “The Tragedy of Birlstone” involves a murder where Sherlock Holmes was called to assist in the investigation. The second part “The Scowrers” brought the readers back in time to see how some players back then who appeared in the current period to complete the full story. Why the author did this in the reverse order had not reduced the superb story-telling by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Readers had two stories for the price of one book. Both stories have a good and unexpected twist at the end. It was a very carefully crafted masterpiece and I could not guess the ending of each story.

In the epilogue, the author brought in Professor Moriarty, the evil, scientific schemer and criminal whose intellect equals that of Sherlock Holmes. The evil and the good would have to battle it out in the subsequent stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.file_000-1

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.