Not A Risk Taker

I am not a gambler. I am not good at taking risk.

In August 2015, I bought some units in a unit trust – JP Morgan Europe Dynamic Fund. It is a fund that invests in equities of European companies (from UK, Germany, France and others).

The price per unit was S$10.96 in August 2015 when I bought in.

One year later on 24 June 2016, UK voted to exit European Union (Brexit). The global stock markets lost US$2 trillion the next day.

I sold off JP Morgan Europe Dynamic Fund at S$10.50, losing about 6.6% in July 2016.

Now another year later in 2017, the same fund is at S$12.67 per unit. If I had held on to the investment, it would reap a profit of 12.7% instead of loss I made.

2016 was all about worries of Brexit and risks in investments in Europe. 2017 is better for global stocks. I did not see that back in 2016.

This is with hindsight. I rather rest easy thinking that I had limited my potential loss in investments back in 2016. I cannot look backward and bemoan I missed the opportunity to make more money. What was done is done.

Copyright © 2017, limkimtong for Living Investment

The material presented is intended to be general and written in layman’s language as much as it is possible. The author shall not be liable for any direct or consequential loss arising from any use of material written. Please seek professional advice from your financial advisor or financial institutions on material written covering financial matters.

This entry was posted in Financial Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

