Being 60

I am now 60. Call me senior. I am fine with it.

Senior is a label tied to me now with regard to government policies on aging. I am part of this statistics.

I am happy that I reached this age. With age I see people around me growing up. I see an ever-changing world. I lived through crises and good times. I realise how it might be like for my parents and older siblings living through it. I am always the youngest in the family. We all crossed 60 in our own quiet ways. It was like an anti-climax, a non-event.

At the end of the day, 60 is just a milestone. It is an artificially demarcated timeline. It is nice to cross this arbitrary number. It is just a moment to live through.

What now when I cross 60?

For one, I can look forward to receiving PAssion Silver Concession Card to enjoy concessionary fares on public transport. This helps to reduce my public transport cost by 25%. I can get my senior’s discounts on groceries bought from NTUC Fairprice and Giants. These would be easier on my wallet.

As I move on, I remember so many people whom I met along the way. They had been kind and were there when I needed them. Life is like a big classroom where I learn how to live by real-life lessons taught to me. I reminisced more in recent years and recorded all these in my blog posts (so called memoirs). I do not wish to lose these memories.

What is truly important is acceptance of it and as someone said, “carry on”.

This entry was posted in Life Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

