“The Marseille Caper” by Peter Mayle – A Book Review

I have read all four Capers written by Peter Mayle. If you plan to read Peter Mayle’s novels on Capers, I recommend that you read them in sequence, ie The Vintage Caper, followed by The Marseille Caper, The Corsican Caper and the latest The Diamond Caper.

The main characters from the first novel moved on to the rest of Peter Mayle’s three other novels. Only the plots, the crimes and the villains were different. Newer characters are introduced in subsequent stories and readers are presumed to have known them in later novels.

The settings for these stories are in South of France, places of good food, wines and high lives.

In all the capers, Sam Levitt was enlisted to help in consulting assignments that ended with crimes and dirty tricks being deployed by the so called bad guys. The novels were light reading and uncomplicated. There were no twists or unexpected outcomes. These novels can be a companion while you are on a holiday.

This entry was posted in Book Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.