How to de-stress?

How can you cope with stress? Have you encountered thinking in a loop over a problem? How can you bring back the balance in your life? I have my ways to deal with it.

  1. Take a break and drink tea
  2. Look out of your window
  3. Meditate on your breath
  4. Go for a walk in a park or nature trail
  5. Enjoy tours of places of interest
  6. Read a novel
  7. Take a short nap
  8. Do photography of places, things
  9. Arrange a group meet-up with family members and close friend
  10. Enjoy a meal with family or on my own
  11. Write blog posts and do journaling
  12. Take a shower
  13. Watch reality musical programme on YouTube
  14. Sleep early at night
  15. Go on an overseas holiday

The thing is to recognise I am stressed right now. Watch out for signs such as headache coming on, faster heartbeats, breathing fast and shallow, tension in stomach, perspiring under armpit, continuous thinking, etc.

Get away from the stress environment or stressor (things that cause stress to start). Do something else. Distract yourself first and come back to it later to solve the problem. Speak to someone (on something else not connected with the problem.)

I do not advocate smoking, drinking liquor, taking drugs to numb the stress. Having said that, when my headache is overwhelming I take muscle relaxant medication prescribed by my doctor.

Hope you can cope with stress in a healthier way.

Copyright © 2024, limkimtong for Living Investment

This entry was posted in Living Tips. Bookmark the permalink.