How to we keep the dead alive?

I like reading musings by Rohit Brijnath, Assistant Sports Editor of SPH. The most recent one is in The Sunday Times dated 21 April 2024. He wrote a piece titled “Acts of Remembrance”.

At my age, I see parents, in-laws and some friends passed away. Do I still remember them as years pass by? Memories fade for sure. How do we keep the dead alive?

We have a file of yellowed documents, government statutory forms, cash receipts belonging to our parents. We have photographs of them too. All these tell a story when they were alive.

We visit temples where our parents’ ashes were kept on Qing Ming festivals. We do think about them at other times when we recall an event that trigger memories. These can pop up anytime.

With colleagues and friends that weren’t with us, I remember them based on my past interactions with them. The most impactful events still remain in my memories. I remember them by what they were good at and how I looked up to them. Each time when I passed by their neighbourhood, I remembered that they stayed there before.

In my case, I write blog posts regularly and do journaling. This is my legacy for my loved ones. I compiled them into self-published books. I have photo journeys in my photo gallery on my phone and in the cloud. They are date-time stamped and locations of these photos.

These people came into our lives. Our memories of them honour their existence. They deserved that much from us.

Copyright © 2024, limkimtong for Living Investment

This entry was posted in Life Journey. Bookmark the permalink.